Welcome Visitor:
 

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

We Only Carry Mysteries .... But We Can Order Almost Anything!

 

The Cold Dish: A Longmire Mystery (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
The Cold Dish: A Longmire Mystery Cover Image
$16.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Often we hear for years about this author or that author, we’re told that we MUST read this author or that author and, when we do read someone and recommend them highly, the rest of us will sometimes avoid reading them so that we’re not all reading the same thing. Very complex and byzantine, that’s us.

Craig Johnson had fallen into this gap. Others have read him and I’ve heard so much about his books that I almost didn’t feel as if I needed to read them to talk about them. And I’ve enjoyed the show “Longmire” adapted from them so I thought was time to try the first one. Have to admit I was hesitant, though. I hove to the mean streets of the urban setting and haven’t had much luck with country settings – other than Woodrell.

But I’ve finished The Cold Dish and I am a convert. He’s a fine writer (here’s a sample of one passage that I posted on our website) with great characters but I have to say what sells the stories is the voice of Walt Longmire. Like all of the great narrators – Archie Goodwin, Dave Robicheaux or Patrick Kenzie – Walt’s voice is unique and indivisible from the setting and story. I can’t imagine the books working without his voice. There’s far more humor to the books than there is to the TV show, and far more poetry. ‘Course it is nearly impossible to capture a narrator’s voice in a visual translation unless you do use a voice-over, and that doesn’t always work well at that. 

Let me just say that if you’ve not read Craig Johnson, do so.

I may be late to the parade but look at it this way – I’ve got seven more to read without waiting on a new one!

It’s always great to find a new author. “Good friends are the cones who can remain close without losing their ability to surprise.”  Good friends and good writers, too.

— JB

Description


Introducing Wyoming's Sheriff Walt Longmire in this riveting novel from the New York Times bestselling author of Dry Bones, the first in the Longmire series, the basis for the hit Netflix original series LONGMIRE
Craig Johnson's The Highwayman and An Obvious Fact are now available from Viking.
Fans of Ace Atkins, Nevada Barr and Robert B. Parker will love this outstanding first novel, in which New York Times bestselling author Craig Johnson introduces Sheriff Walt Longmire of Wyoming's Absaroka County. Johnson draws on his deep attachment to the American West to produce a literary mystery of stunning authenticity, and full of memorable characters. After twenty-five years as sheriff of Absaroka County, Walt Longmire's hopes of finishing out his tenure in peace are dashed when Cody Pritchard is found dead near the Northern Cheyenne Reservation. Two years earlier, Cody has been one of four high school boys given suspended sentences for raping a local Cheyenne girl. Somebody, it would seem, is seeking vengeance, and Longmire might be the only thing standing between the three remaining boys and a Sharps .45-70 rifle.
With lifelong friend Henry Standing Bear, Deputy Victoria Moretti, and a cast of characters both tragic and humorous enough to fill in the vast emptiness of the high plains, Walt Longmire attempts to see that revenge, a dish best served cold, is never served at all.

About the Author


Craig Johnson is the New York Times bestselling author of the Longmire mysteries, the basis for the hit Netflix original series Longmire. He is the recipient of the Western Writers of America Spur Award for fiction, the Mountains and Plains Booksellers Award for fiction, the Nouvel Observateur Prix du Roman Noir, and the Prix SNCF du Polar. His novella Spirit of Steamboat was the first One Book Wyoming selection. He lives in Ucross, Wyoming, population twenty-five.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780143123170
ISBN-10: 0143123173
Publisher: Penguin Books
Publication Date: May 30th, 2012
Pages: 400
Language: English
Series: Longmire Mysteries