Welcome Visitor:
 

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

We Only Carry Mysteries .... But We Can Order Almost Anything!

 

The Lost Ones (Paperback)

$16.00
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Apr 26 1:37pm

Staff Reviews


In Atkin’s Edgar nominated The Ranger, Quinn Colson has just returned to his hometown of Tibbehah County Mississippi, to find it mired in corruption. In The Lost Ones, he is now the sheriff and it looks like one of his old buddies is involved in illegal gun sales. In addition, an abused child case leads him and his deputy Lillie Virgil to a bootlegged-baby racket. I think this is a really good action series, somewhere between a mystery and a western that would be great for readers that enjoy Lee Child among others.

— Adele

Description


Fans of "Justified" and James Lee Burke will love Mississippi lawman Quinn Colson in this Edgar(R) Award Nominee for Best Novel from the author of "The Ranger..."
When Army Ranger Quinn Colson, the new sheriff of Tibbehah County, is called out to investigate a child abuse case, what he finds is a horrifying scene of neglect, thirteen empty cribs, and a shoe box full of money. Janet and Ramon Torres seem to have skipped town--but Colson's sure they'll come back for the cash.

Meanwhile, Colson's sister has returned--clean and sober for good, she says. His friend Boom has been drinking himself into oblivion and picking fights at the local bar. And his old flame is pregnant. But Colson can't focus on his personal problems. He and Deputy Lillie Virgil are convinced that Janet and Ramon have a taste for guns, drugs, and human trafficking. Soon Colson and Virgil find a link between the fugitive couple and a drug cartel that controls most of the Texas border, taking their investigation far beyond the rough hills of northeast Mississippi...

About the Author


Ace Atkins, a former journalist, has written eight previous novels. He began his writing career in 1998, at age twenty-eight, when the first of four Nick Travers novels was published. In 2001, he earned a Pulitzer Prize nomination for his investigation into a 1950s murder. That murder inspired his 2006 novel White Shadow, which was followed by three further history-based crime novels, Wicked City, Devil s Garden, and Infamous. Atkins lives in Oxford, Mississippi.

Praise For…


“One of the best crime writers at work today.”—Michael Connelly
“A series that should push him to the top of the bestseller list.”—John Sandford“Keep an eye on Ace Atkins, he can write rings around most of the names in the crime field.”—Elmore Leonard

 “[His] estimable range may bring to mind Lee Child’s hardfisted, softhearted Jack Reacher, which is entirely a good thing.”—Kirkus Reviews

Product Details
ISBN: 9780425258644
ISBN-10: 0425258645
Publisher: Berkley Books
Publication Date: December 4th, 2012
Pages: 368
Language: English