Welcome Visitor:

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

We Only Carry Mysteries .... But We Can Order Almost Anything!


The Lost Ones (Paperback)

On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Nov 27 2:39pm

Staff Reviews

In Atkin’s Edgar nominated The Ranger, Quinn Colson has just returned to his hometown of Tibbehah County Mississippi, to find it mired in corruption. In The Lost Ones, he is now the sheriff and it looks like one of his old buddies is involved in illegal gun sales. In addition, an abused child case leads him and his deputy Lillie Virgil to a bootlegged-baby racket. I think this is a really good action series, somewhere between a mystery and a western that would be great for readers that enjoy Lee Child among others.

— Adele


Fans of "Justified" and James Lee Burke will love Mississippi lawman Quinn Colson in thisEdgar(R) Award Nominee for Best Novelfrom the author of "The Ranger..."
When Army Ranger Quinn Colson, the new sheriff of Tibbehah County, is called out to investigate a child abuse case, what he finds is a horrifying scene of neglect, thirteen empty cribs, and a shoe box full of money. Janet and Ramon Torres seem to have skipped town but Colson's sure they ll come back for the cash.

Meanwhile, Colson's sister has returned clean and sober for good, she says. His friend Boom has been drinking himself into oblivion and picking fights at the local bar. And his old flame is pregnant. But Colson can t focus on his personal problems. He and Deputy Lillie Virgil are convinced that Janet and Ramon have a taste for guns, drugs, and human trafficking. Soon Colson and Virgil find a link between the fugitive couple and a drug cartel that controls most of the Texas border, taking their investigation far beyond the rough hills of northeast Mississippi

About the Author

Ace Atkins vit dans une ferme pres d Oxford, Mississippi, la patrie de Faulkner. Ancien journaliste, auteur d envergure aux Etats-Unis, digne representant du "sud profond", Atkins decrit avec force la realite crue de la misere du Mississippi, ou le soleil du sud ne brille pas pour tout le monde.

Praise For…

“One of the best crime writers at work today.”—Michael Connelly
“A series that should push him to the top of the bestseller list.”—John Sandford“Keep an eye on Ace Atkins, he can write rings around most of the names in the crime field.”—Elmore Leonard

 “[His] estimable range may bring to mind Lee Child’s hardfisted, softhearted Jack Reacher, which is entirely a good thing.”—Kirkus Reviews

Product Details
ISBN: 9780425258644
ISBN-10: 0425258645
Publisher: Berkley Books
Publication Date: December 4th, 2012
Pages: 368
Language: English
Series: Quinn Colson Novel