Welcome Visitor:

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

We Only Carry Mysteries .... But We Can Order Almost Anything!


Silence Fallen (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Silence Fallen Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews

It all started when Mercy’s step-daughter stabbed her in the back. Well, to be fair, they were playing a pirate MMO – but still – and it probebly wouldn’t have happened except for Mercy’s propensity for baking chocolate chip cookies when she was knocked out of the game! When Mercy discovers that someone ate all the eggs and half of the chocolate chips (shocking! In a house filled werewolves who notoriously have big appetites – someone ate some of her ingredients…) she decides to hit the convenience store (the “shop and rob”) for supplies. Which begins Mercy’s inadvertaint European adventure – filled with near death experinces, vampires, power plays, a pilot named Matt Smith, and Adam in the thick of diplomatic relations.

This was a fun page turning read - a great installment in the Mercy Thompson series. It furthers our knowledge of Marsilia, Wulfe and Stefan – and gives us a fair peek into the runnings of the European packs and seethes, all the while adding to Mercy’s reputation for causing chaos for those who hate her – well and for those who love her - fortunatly it tends to be less destructive for them. To be fair.

I would recommend this book to any and all who enjoy reading the Mercy series. You will like it as much as I did. Briggs structured this novel a bit differently than she has any of the other books in the series which adds a newish element making this book feel fresh – which encourages the reader to devour it whole. If you haven’t read anything in the Mercy series – I suggest you read the first book Moon Called before tackling this one (actually I recommend reading all of them - to be honest) so you have a good footing in the world. Then just dive in. But as a warning, you do get the most out of this series if read in order! Enjoy!

— Amber

You know how I say that you should read books in series order? I stand by that.


If you've never read pick up  Patricia Briggs' work and you pick up her latest "Mercy Thompson" novel, Silence Fallen, you'll be just fine. She explains who everyone is and what's going on so that you won't feel left out, although you will want to go back and read the whole series.

"I'm a mechanic; I fix things that are broken. I turn into a thirty-five pound coyote. I have powerful friends. But when it comes right down to it, my real superpower is chaos."

We find Mercy on her way to get the fixings for chocolate chip cookies when she's kidnapped. Adam and the pack can't find her, and the amount of blood in the totaled SUV means Mercy is badly hurt. Eventually, Mercy turns up in Milan, and later ends up in Prague, with Adam and a bunch of others racing off in a diplomatic mission to get her back. Or kill anyone who gets in their way. Either one works.

Silence Fallen is written from both Mercy’s and Adam's viewpoints, and the notes to you, the reader, at the beginnings of every chapter are very important. They're notes to you from Mercy, and she's trying to be sure you understand what's going on, and what the timeline is.

Part of the brilliance of Patricia Briggs' writing is her wry humor in addition to her magnificent characters. She's created a world that's entertaining and always uncertain, so it's easy to relate to events even if you've never been kidnapped and sent out of the country. Despite the grim and scary events that happen, Silence Fallen has a sassy joy that makes the events we experience with both Mercy and Adam fantastically entertaining. And Patricia Briggs does touch on some deeper emotions and events that can make you think, so please don't dismiss this as a fluffy book. It isn't.

Oh, but it IS very good, and I think you'll enjoy the daylights out of it.

— Fran


In the #1 New York Times bestselling Mercy Thompson novels, the coyote shapeshifter has found her voice in the werewolf pack. But when Mercy's bond with the pack--and her mate--is broken, she'll learn what it truly means to be alone...
Attacked and abducted in her home territory, Mercy finds herself in the clutches of the most powerful vampire in the world, taken as a weapon to use against alpha werewolf Adam and the ruler of the Tri-Cities vampires. In coyote form, Mercy escapes--only to find herself without money, without clothing, and alone in the heart of Europe...
Unable to contact Adam and the rest of the pack, Mercy has allies to find and enemies to fight, and she needs to figure out which is which. Ancient powers stir, and Mercy must be her agile best to avoid causing a war between vampires and werewolves, and between werewolves and werewolves. And in the heart of the ancient city of Prague, old ghosts rise...

About the Author

Patricia Briggs is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Mercy Thompson urban fantasy series (Fire Touched, Night Broken) and the Alpha and Omega novels, (Dead Heat, Fair Game).
Product Details
ISBN: 9780425281277
ISBN-10: 0425281272
Publisher: Ace Books
Publication Date: March 7th, 2017
Pages: 384
Language: English
Series: Mercy Thompson Novels