Welcome Visitor:
 

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

We Only Carry Mysteries .... But We Can Order Almost Anything!

 

Some Girls Bite (Mass Market Paperbound)

Staff Pick Logo
Some Girls Bite Cover Image
$7.99
In Our Shop Now!
3 on hand, as of Mar 23 4:30pm

Staff Reviews


It has been eight months since Chicago’s vampires outed themselves to the general poplace – or simply telling the rest of Chicago what the influential politicians and police officials already knew.

This is the Chicago that Merit lives in, where she is a graduate student studying literature at the University of Chicago. Her life, while small, was very much hers – until she decided to cross the university campus one night, a small action which changed her life – because during that walk she is attacked, by a vampire. Before her attacker kills her, he is chased off by another vampire – a Master who turns her.

This turns both her life and the Master’s into something completely different as they both discover that Merit is a cut above your average vampire. While they both are coming to terms about what this means for themselves, they must try and figure out why Merit was attacked and if she was the second vicitim in a series of vampire-commited murders.

This is a fun book. It reminds me of The Last Call At The Nightshade Lounge insofar as the book feels young and shiny, dealing with newly minted vampire who is trying to come to terms with her powers and a best friend who discovers she is an accidental sorceress. But it is fun with a whiff of romantic tension sprinkled in for flavor. There is a great level of snark, literary refrences, and action which makes this book work and feel like something more than a rehashing or reshaping of Underworld.

If you are looking for a fun supernatural read (as there are more than just vampires in this series) I would suggest you invest some time in the Chicagoand Vamipre series!

Fran here – RUN! Run while you can! Amber’s at it again, and this series will suck you right in, no pun intended. No, go on ahead without me – I’m beyond help at this point (on so many levels, right?) but I’m glad this is a really long series *eagerly grabbing at book #4* because it’s so good. Wait, what was I saying! RUN FOR YOUR LIVES AND STAY AWAY FROM THIS ADDICTING SERIES!

— Amber

Okay, so Amber did it again. You'd think I'd learn, but no. She badgers me into reading something, I sigh and put it off, and she's right. Darn it.

This time it's the Chicagoland Vampire series by Chloe Neill. We can't get them into the shop fast enough to suit me and Amber won't share. She's hoarding them all at her house, so I'm buying them as fast as I can order them. Yeah, they're that good.

I just bought books 6 and 7, which tells you we're not the only ones who love this series. You must, however, read them in order, so start with Some Girls Bite and go from there.

Merit was never a typical twenty-something since her family has been part of Chicago's elite for a while, but she's never been all that impressed with their status and has gone her own way, which is why she was walking across the campus lawn, thinking about her upcoming Doctorate defense in Romantic English Literature when she was attacked by a vampire, and turned into one to save her life. It was, however, without her consent (there wasn't time, she gets that, but still), so she's not sure how to proceed. She was turned by the Master of Cadogen House, and she has a week to figure out if she wants to stay there or go rogue.

That's how the series begins and Merit's story is as addicting as Sookie Stackhouse's, and Mercy Thompson's, and while not as bleak as Jim Butcher's, if you've been following the Dresden Files, you'll recognize Merit's Chicago. What is different about Chloe Neill's series is the political atmosphere that runs throughout the books, and the food. There's enough meat - on both levels - to keep your mind and tummy active, and really, that's not a bad combination! Tracking down a hot-beef here in Seattle was a bit of a challenge, but I had to pull it off because Merit described them so lovingly. In the most carnivorous of terms, naturally!

You'll want to get the first three to begin. Just getting Some Girls Bite won't be enough; you're going to want Friday Night Bites and Twice Bitten (both Roc, both $7.99) to jump right into, and check with us after that. It's a popular series for a reason, and we might not have the following ones in! Yeah, it's that good.

Darn you, Amber! (And she's not sorry at all about it!)

— Fran

Description


The First Chicagoland Vampires Novel
They killed me. They healed me. They changed me.
Sure, the life of a graduate student wasn't exactly glamorous, but I was doing fine until Chicago's vampires announced their existence to the world. When a rogue vampire attacked me, I was lucky he only got a sip. Another bloodsucker scared him off and decided the best way to save my life was to make me the walking undead.
Now I've traded sweating over my thesis for learning to fit in at a Hyde Park mansion full of vamps loyal to Ethan "Lord o' the Manor" Sullivan. Of course, as a tall, green-eyed,
four-hundred-year-old vampire, he has centuries' worth of charm, but unfortunately he expects my gratitude--and servitude. Right...
But someone's out to get me. Is it the rogue vampire who bit me? A vamp from a rival House? An angry mob bearing torches?
My initiation into Chicago's nightlife may be the first skirmish in a war--and there will be blood.

About the Author


Chloe Neill is the New York Time and USA Today bestselling author of the Chicagoland Vampire series, including Biting Bad, House Rules, and Biting Cold. She was born and raised in the South but now makes her home in the Midwest--just close enough to Cadogan House and St. Sophia's to keep an eye on things. When not transcribing Merit's and Lily's adventures, she bakes, works, and scours the Internet for good recipes and great graphic design. Chloe also maintains her sanity by spending time with her boys--her favorite landscape photographer (her husband) and their dogs, Baxter and Scout. (Both she and the photographer understand the dogs are in charge.)

Praise For…


Praise for Some Girls Bite and the Chicagoland Vampire series:

"These books are wonderful entertainment."—#1 New York Times bestselling author Charlaine Harris

“If you loved Nancy Drew but always wished she was an undead sword-wielding badass, Merit is your kind of girl.” —Geek Monthly

“Neill creates a strong-minded, sharp-witted heroine who will appeal to fans of Charlaine Harris’s Sookie Stackhouse series and Laurell K. Hamilton’s Anita Blake.”—Library Journal

“The pages turn fast enough to satisfy vampire and romance fans alike.”—Booklist

“High-stakes drama, romantic entanglements, and a touch of humor…certain to whet readers’ appetites for more in this entertaining series!”—Romantic Times (4½ stars)

“Chloe Neill keeps readers right on the precipice of anticipation.”—Fresh Fiction

Product Details
ISBN: 9780451469052
ISBN-10: 0451469054
Publisher: Roc
Publication Date: March 4th, 2014
Pages: 338
Language: English
Series: Chicagoland Vampires Novels