Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

We Only Carry Mysteries .... But We Can Order Almost Anything!

 

The Keeper of Lost Causes: The First Department Q Novel (Paperback)

$16.00
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand as of Nov 26 7:31pm

Staff Reviews



Adele talked me into reading Jussi Adler-Olsen's first book, The Keeper of Lost Causes and so I absolutely had to read The Absent One, and it's just as much fun as the second one! 

Carl Mørck is still head of Department Q, and he's not sure which cold case to take on next. But his assistant, Assad, has one already picked out, and it's one that's going to cause controversy. You see, the murder of the two siblings back in 1988 has been solved; someone confessed and is doing time. So why should Department Q take another look? Because perhaps those weren't the only two murders. And perhaps some of the assailants are now high-society members. Carl's not convinced, until his supervisor tells him to leave it alone. Nothing will get Carl Mørck's attention faster than being told to go away.

Adler-Olsen has added a new member to Department Q, a secretary named Rose who is definitely thorny, and he's set up a story that is fast- and well-paced, filled with unique and intriguing people, and has managed to make someone who's really a dreadful person be sympathetic. That's no easy feat!

And the humor comes through as well, maybe not as clearly as in the first one, but different translators do sometimes emphasize different aspects. Still, I found myself snorting in amusment at times.

--Fran

Indie Next List

September 2011
Chief Detective Carl Morck doesn't play by the book, but he has been successful at solving Denmark's most difficult homicide cases. When a bullet almost takes his life and two of his partners are not so lucky, he changes his outlook. Being assigned to work on cold cases satisfies his need to do nothing, but his request for an assistant interferes with his apathy. Adler-Olsen has created a hero with a keen sense of both humor and honor, an assistant who is clever and determined, and a case that keeps the clues coming but won't be solved until the last page. -- Karen Briggs, Great Northern Books and Hobbies, Oscoda, MI

Description


The first book in New York Times bestsellerJussi Adler-Olsen's electrifying Department Q series.

The #1 international bestseller from Jussi Adler-Olsen, author of The Absent One—perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson's The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo 

Carl Mørck used to be one of Copenhagen’s best homicide detectives. Then a hail of bullets destroyed the lives of two fellow cops, and Carl—who didn’t draw his weapon—blames himself. So a promotion is the last thing he expects. But Department Q is a department of one, and Carl’s got only a stack of Copenhagen’s coldest cases for company. His colleagues snicker, but Carl may have the last laugh, because one file keeps nagging at him: a liberal politician vanished five years earlier and is presumed dead. But she isn’t dead … yet.

Darkly humorous, propulsive, and atmospheric, The Keeper of Lost Causes introduces American readers to the mega-bestselling series fast becoming an international sensation.

About the Author


Jussi Adler-Olsen lives in Denmark.

Praise for The Keeper of Lost Causes: The First Department Q Novel…


“Plan on putting everything else in your life on hold if you pick up this book.”
--The Oregonian


“The pages fly by as the twisty puzzle unfolds. Stieg Larsson fans will be delighted.”
--Publishers Weekly (starred review)


“Far from being just another morose Nordic crime writer, Adler-Olsen creates a detective whose curiosity is as active as his soul is tortured.”
--Library Journal (starred review)


“Adler-Olsen's prose is superior to Larsson's, his tortures are less discomfiting, and he has a sense of humor.”
--Booklist (starred review)


“The new ‘it' boy of Nordic Noir.”
--The Times (London)


The Keeper of Lost Causes is dark, atmospheric, and compelling. Those who loved The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo will devour this book.”
--C. J. Box, New York Times bestselling author of Cold Wind

Product Details ISBN-10: 0452297907
ISBN-13: 9780452297906
Published: Plume
Pages: 416
Language: English