Welcome Visitor:


Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

We Only Carry Mysteries .... But We Can Order Almost Anything!


100 Diagrams That Changed the World: From the Earliest Cave Paintings to the Innovation of the iPod (Hardcover)

Usually Ships in 1-5 Days


Recommended by "The""New York Times Book Review " "This handsomely designed volume makes a case for the diagrams...provoking many 'aha moments.'"]
A collection of the most important ideas, theories, and concepts of all time
"100 Diagrams That Changed the World" is a fascinating collection of the most significant plans, sketches, drawings, and illustrations that have influenced and shaped the way we think about the world. From primitive cave paintings to Leonardo da Vinci's Vitruvian Man to the complicated DNA helix drawn by Crick and Watson to the innovation of the iPod, they chart dramatic breakthroughs in our understanding of the world and its history. Arranged chronologically, each diagram is accompanied by informative text that makes even the most scientific breakthrough accessible to all.
Beautifully illustrated in full color, this book will not only inform but also entertain as it demonstrates how the power of a single drawing can enhance, change, or even revolutionize our understanding of the world. With its iconic images and powerful explanations, "100 Diagrams That Changed the World" is perfect for readers of "The History of the World in 100 Objects," and is the ideal gift for anyone interested in culture, history, science, or technology.

About the Author

Scott Christianson is the author of "Notorious Prison: Inside the World's Most Feared Institutions" and "Condemned: Inside the Sing Sing Death House" (NYU Press, 1999). A longtime investigative reporter, his articles have appeared in "The New York Times", the "The Washington Post", "The Nation", the "Criminal Law Bulletin" and many other publications. Since the author began this project, six of the convictions discussed in Innocent have been overturned.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780452298774
ISBN-10: 0452298776
Publisher: Plume Books
Publication Date: October 30th, 2012
Pages: 224
Language: English